Tips For “Lowering” Your Bike


I know how hard it is for those of us with short legs to feel comfortable on a sportbike.  I’m only 5′ tall so I speak from experience.  The obvious option for most is to buy lowering links and drop the forks. This option is a relatively inexpensive fix, but it interferes with the handling and ride quality.  If you only intend on riding around town, this is still a good option.  Where I ran into trouble when my first bike was lowered was dragging toes, dragging pegs, and dragging my kickstand.  It became clear that for this type of riding, my bike was too dangerous.  So here are some of the options for getting your feet closer to the ground without “lowering” your bike:

Suspension – Relatively Inexpensive to Really Expensive

If you’re short like me, you probably weigh less than what the bike’s factory suspension is set up for.  When I changed the fork springs and shock spring to ones that are suited for my weight, the bike sagged a little which reduced the ride height.  Additionally, the bike actually sagged when I got on it which had never happened before.  The stiffer factory springs were also pretty dangerous for someone like me.  There were a few times hitting bumps while going around a curve where I felt like I was going to get bucked off.

I personally went with Race Tech springs because they offer a sportier spring without breaking the bank.  Obviously you could go more expensive with Ohlins, but I’m not a racer and I probably would have reached the point of diminishing return on my investment very quickly.

Front Tire Profile – Relatively Inexpensive

For one of my track days I went down to a 60 profile tire in the front to help bring the front down a little.  It isn’t a huge difference but it is noticeable.  I didn’t feel that the handling or ride was compromised from this.  A 60 profile tire is also cheaper than a 70.

Re-Sole Riding Boots – Cheap

I had some sole added to my Sidi B2’s for some more height.  This helped for when I first raised the bike up to stock height.  I still have to one foot it, but I feel a little more confident.  And yes, you will get made fun of for having “platform riding boots.”  Call around to shoe repair places, not everyone will be able to, or is willing to do this service.

Shaving Seat – Free?

Finally, shaving your seat can be very inexpensive or free.  I recommend using a turkey carver for this job.  I also recommend buying a used stock seat off someone in case you screw up.  Depending on how much foam your seat has (if you’re a Honda owner not much), focus on shaving the sides.  If you shave more off the top than the sides, you will end up pushing your legs out farther to the side, therefore farther from the ground.  Shave thin pieces at a time.  It’s not very precise and may look choppy, but when you put the cover back on no one will be able to tell.

You might have to phone a friend to help you replace the seat cover.  I wasn’t heavy enough to drive the staples into the plastic…

, ,

  1. #1 by Siyam on April 5, 2012 - 8:21 am

    Hey about shaving your seat. I got a cbr250r and I am 5’5. Wondering how you much you were able to lower it by without the seat being uncomfortable?

    • #2 by Rebecca T on April 14, 2012 - 8:33 pm

      I haven’t shaved the 250 seat but there seams to be more foam than on the 600. I recommend shaving mostly from the sides to make it narrower so you legs aren’t pushed out too far

  2. #3 by RougeH on April 16, 2012 - 10:31 am

    Hey, I am 5′ as well. How much sole did you add to your boots. I plan on keeping it stock height btw.

    • #4 by Rebecca T on April 16, 2012 - 12:59 pm

      I want to say it was about half an inch, maybe a little bit more? You don’t want to add too much otherwise it will be difficult to shift gears

  3. #5 by RougeH on April 17, 2012 - 12:39 am

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment