Nostalgea….sucks


My boyfriend pulled the bikes out a couple of days ago and started them up for the first time in a long time (let me start off by saying that my bike sounded soooo sexy and his sounded like a dull whisper…love you baby!).  The roar and the power brought me back a year ago when I went on my last mountain ride with the 600.  It was a small group, including my now boyfriend.  We did the usual Jonas Ridge ride in NC, and 181 felt so smooth.  I realized that I miss having a reason to drag myself out of bed early on my only day off, and not waking up fully until getting to Lincolnton.  I miss the cruise through the country before getting to old 18, and taking that into Morganton.  I miss the excitement of reaching the base of 181, and the anticipation of the first curve.  I miss the 10 degree drop in temperature halfway up to Jonas Ridge, and the feeling of disappointment when you get to the top.  Lunch was is mediocre but the ride up makes up for it.  We top off and take the same route home, but it’s never as much fun because you know it’s a means to an end.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment